Did you or a loved one sustain injuries in an accident involving a rideshare service in Port St. Lucie, FL? Claims involving Uber and Lyft involve insurance issues that aren’t involved in most car accident claims. An experienced Port St. Lucie Uber accident lawyer at Kibbey Wagner, PLLC, can help you understand the insurance laws and fight to recover money for medical bills, lost wages, and more.
Our lawyers have served Port St. Lucie accident victims since 2014. Over the years, we’ve recovered over $60 million in settlements and verdicts for our injured clients.
How Kibbey Wagner, PLLC Can Help After an Uber Accident in Port St. Lucie
When an accident isn’t your fault, you shouldn’t have to pay the price. While car and health insurance can protect you, insurance won’t cover all your costs if you are seriously hurt.
Of course, the at-fault driver can be held liable for your damages. On the other hand, it won’t always be easy to recover damages. Multiple parties can share fault for one accident. Uber’s commercial insurance company will fight you every step of the way.
Our experienced Port St. Lucie personal injury lawyers can put over 40 years of experience to work on your behalf.
We’ll use that experience to your advantage by:
- Investigating to determine causation and locate all responsible parties
- Identifying the available insurance in your personal injury claim
- Hiring experts and specialists when they can help strengthen your case
- Fighting to counter any allegations that you caused the accident
- Assessing your case value
- Negotiating with the insurance companies for a fair settlement deal
Our Port St. Lucie personal injury attorneys are committed to recovering the maximum compensation you deserve. To learn more about our legal services and practice areas, call our legal team to schedule a free consultation at your convenience.
What Is My Port St. Lucie Uber Accident Case Worth?
The cost of any injury can be overwhelming. It’s important to know how much your case is worth before agreeing to an insurance settlement offer.
It’s up to you to prove what your specific case is worth, considering factors such as:
- The nature and severity of your injuries
- The cost of your medical care and need for future medical treatment
- The value of your lost wages
- How the injury impacts your earning potential
- Damage to your lifestyle or quality of life
- Your pain and suffering
Available insurance coverage can impact any motor vehicle accident victim. However, insurance can have a more substantial impact on the value of a rideshare accident case.
How Can Insurance Impact the Value of My Uber Accident Case?
All drivers in Florida are required to purchase car insurance. Florida is a “no-fault” insurance state, meaning you can receive some compensation regardless of whose fault the accident was. If your accident involves a serious injury, you may also be able to file a lawsuit for additional compensation. No-fault insurance provides personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for victims of an accident.
In the past, however, insurance companies have refused to pay settlements under personal auto insurance policies when an Uber driver is using the vehicle for commercial purposes. Similarly, Uber and Lyft refused to pay because their drivers are classified as independent contractors, not employees.
Today, rideshare companies are required to carry commercial insurance coverage to protect victims in an accident. Their policy coverage limits are higher than what is required under Florida’s no-fault insurance law. However, the amount of insurance available depends on the driver’s status at the time of the accident.
Driver Available or Waiting for a Ride Request
If the driver is logged into the Uber app and available to accept a ride at the time of the accident, the following insurance coverage is available:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Note that this coverage is third-party liability coverage. It only applies if the Uber driver caused the crash and your own car insurance policy is insufficient to cover your damages.
Driver is En Route to Pick Up a Passenger and During Trips
Once the driver has accepted a passenger ride request, a more generous policy is available.
That coverage includes:
- $1,000,000 in third-party liability coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- Contingent comprehensive and collision up to actual cash value of the car (with a $2,500 deductible)
This coverage is available from the moment the driver accepts the ride until the ride ends within the Uber app.
Driver is Offline
If the driver isn’t logged into the Uber app, the case is handled like any other auto accident case. The driver’s own personal insurance policy will be available if your own insurance doesn’t cover your damages.
What Types of Damages Are Available to Uber Accident Victims?
You may have the right to receive compensation for:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Diminished future earning potential
- Property damage
- Out-of-pocket expenses
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Diminished quality of life
- Anxiety, depression, and PTSD
- Loss of consortium
If you were injured, it’s important to seek medical care quickly. It’s also important to document your injuries, save all medical bills, and record how the injury impacts your life. You can get help by calling our lawyers in New Port Richey today.
Can I Recover Damages If I’m Being Blamed for an Uber Accident in Florida?
If the insurance company can prove you share fault, your compensation can be reduced. You won’t lose your right to recover damages entirely.
Florida’s comparative fault law allocates blame between all parties to the accident. If you share responsibility, your compensation will be reduced by your percentage of fault.
We’ll Fight To Recover Compensation for All of Your Uber Accident Injuries
Like any other car accident, Uber crashes can leave victims suffering from serious injuries.
At Kibbey Wagner, PLLC, our lawyers often represent clients who have sustained:
- Broken bones
- Soft tissue damage
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Head and neck injuries
- Back injuries
- Internal organ damage
- Catastrophic injuries
Uber accidents also have the potential to be fatal. If you lost a loved one in a fatal accident, we can help you seek compensation for the wrongful death of a loved one.
What Causes Most Uber Accidents in Port St. Lucie, Florida?
Uber and Lyft drivers are only human. There’s no guarantee that they won’t cause an accident. In fact, Uber drivers may be more likely to be distracted because they conduct business via a smartphone app. It only makes sense that they’re likely to be paying attention to their phone.
Some of the most common causes of Uber accidents in Port St. Lucie are:
- Distracted driving
- Texting while driving
- Stopping in dangerous locations
- Looking for passengers instead of paying attention to the road
- Failure to yield the right-of-way
- Aggressive driving
- Weaving across lanes
- Dangerous turns
- Ignoring traffic signals and other traffic violations
- Drunk driving
- Driving under the influence of drugs
- Failure to properly maintain the Uber vehicle in a safe condition
It isn’t always the Uber driver’s fault when an accident happens. Third-party drivers, pedestrians, and even government agencies could share blame for your accident.
How Do I Prove Negligence After an Uber Accident in Florida?
The leading cause of motor vehicle accidents is negligence. Uber accidents are no different. Negligence is a legal term for careless or reckless behavior that causes an injury.
To prove negligence, the victim must establish:
- The at-fault party’s legal duty of care
- A breach of duty
- Causation, or evidence that the breach caused the accident
- The damages suffered
Various types of evidence can be used to prove these elements. Police reports, witness statements, video footage, and even data from the Uber app may all be valuable to your case. You can count on our Port St. Lucie Uber accident attorneys to locate and analyze all available evidence–so that you can spend your time focused on recovery.
How Long Do I Have To File a Lawsuit After an Uber Accident in Florida?
The statute of limitations in personal injury cases is four years. Under Florida law, you lose your right to seek compensation if you don’t file a personal injury lawsuit within four years of the crash.
Of course, most Uber accident claims are resolved through the insurance claims process. Insurance companies will require you to file a claim within a reasonable amount of time after the accident. That makes it important to speak with an attorney soon after the crash.
Contact a Port St. Lucie Uber Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation
Were you injured because an Uber driver was careless? An experienced Port St. Lucie Uber accident lawyer at Kibbey Wagner, PLLC, can help you get back on your feet again. Just call our law firm to schedule a free consultation to get started.